to the Pearson Peace Medal Ceremony, which was organized by the National Office of the United Nations Association in Canada. The Pearson Peace Medal is awarded to a Canadian who makes a significant contribution to the causes to which Lester B. Pearson was devoted: Equal rights and justice for all humanity, aid to developing countries, mediation between groups in armed conflict, succour to others in need, and peaceful change through world law and world organization.

This year’s Pearson Peace Medal was awarded to the Honourable Louise Arbour. Madam Arbour previously sat as a justice on the Supreme Court of Canada, the Court of Appeal for Ontario, and the Supreme Court of Ontario. Madam Arbour further served as Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda and Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia. Her efforts in these roles resulted in convictions against 60 people who participated in the 1994 Rwandan genocide. Notably, she also became the first UN prosecutor to indict a serving head of state for war crimes, bringing charges against Slobodan Milosevic.

Madam Arbour formerly served as the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, as well as a member of the Global Commission on Drug Policy and the International Commission Against the Death Penalty. She is now a member of the Advisory Board of The Coalition for the International Criminal Court and a jurist-in-residence at Borden Ladner Gervais LLP.

Supplementary Resources:

Details about the Pearson Peace Medal and its past recipients are available at:

Also on the Governor General’s official website at:

Pin It on Pinterest